sin·gu·lar
 [ síng gyələr ]
  1. exceptional: especially great or remarkable
  2. unusual: unusual, odd, or striking
  3. sole: being only one, or the only one of a kind
Synonyms: remarkable, extraordinary, particular, outstanding, curious, odd, unusual
Today’s daily prompt from the Daily Post asked that we  creative imaging  types  work with the word singular.
handmade_fly_by_owl_jones
Given the definition of singular, I immediately thought of the exquisitely artistic yet functional fly made for me by the talented artist Owl Jones .
Spring in my neighborhood means morel mushrooms, fresh bluegill and bass on the fly rod – what a better way to commemorate my reputation as a “mushroom mama” and likely the only person in the county that owns and uses a fly rod.

Jones asked about where I fished, the species I chased, and what water conditions were like  to insure that not only was the fly a unique piece of art, it would also function in the field.

I must admit, that because of the artistic beauty in this fly, the singular nature of it’s design, I will not risk losing it when a big bass does a flip and rip as is all too common on muggy summer evening just before dark.
Instead, it lives  in  reverent repose in a shadow box with other small bits and pieces of the outdoors that I pause to admire each day.
Because it is truly SINGULAR
sin·gu·lar
 [ síng gyələr ]
  1. exceptional: especially great or remarkable
  2. unusual: unusual, odd, or striking
  3. sole: being only one, or the only one of a kind
